Marblehead Lighthouse State Park

WHERE:  110 Lighthouse Drive (off SR 163-Main Street), Marblehead, OH
419-734-4424, ext. 2
Marblehead Lighthouse Historical Society website:

As of April 1, 2021, the State of Ohio has not yet determined whether the park will be open in 2021.  When a final decision is made, this information will be updated accordingly.

The park grounds will be available dusk until dawn year round. The Marblehead Lighthouse Historical Society offers tours of the Lighthouse, Keeper’s House and U.S. Lifesaving Station museums from noon until 4 pm daily, from Memorial Day weekend until Labor Day weekend.

In the Lighthouse visitors can climb the 77 steps to the top of the oldest lighthouse in continuous service on the Great Lakes. Built in 1821 it is reputed to be the most photographed building in Ohio.  The 1880 Keeper’s House contains a gift shop and museum exhibits covering the lighthouse history and history of Marblehead. The beautiful Fresnel lens used in the lighthouse from 1903 until the 1960’s is on display.  The U.S. Lifesaving Station Museum is a replica of the structure built in Marblehead in 1876. It contains exhibits on the U.S. Lifesaving Service and a fully-restored 1931 Coast Guard surf boat on a marine railway. The exhibits cover rescue techniques and equipment and describe the transition of the Lifesaving Service into the U.S. Coast Guard in 1915.

The park grounds offer picnic and fishing opportunities, adequate parking and a newly-completed public restroom facility. The cost to climb the lighthouse is $3 for adults, with children under 6 admitted free. All other facilities and buildings are free of charge.

More detailed information, photographs, maps and our online Gift Shop can be found on our website at You can also follow us on Facebook.

When open, Federal and State covid-19 guidelines will be followed (required masks and social distancing).



Ottawa County Museum


WHERE:  126 W. Third Street, Port Clinton, OH

The Ottawa County Museum will resume normal open hours on Wednesday, May 5, 2021.  The museum will be open until Memorial Day on Wednesdays from 12:00 noon to 3:00 p.m. and from Memorial Day to Labor Day on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays from 12:00 noon to 3:00 p.m.  Appointments may be made for visiting at other times by calling the curator, Peggy Debien, at 419-732-1039.

The museum is handicapped accessible, and admission is free of charge.

Federal, State and Local health orders will be followed (required masks and social distancing).



Kelleys Island History Museum


WHERE:  224 Division Street, Kelleys Island, OH 43438


Facebook:  Kelleys Island History Museum

2021 opening day:  May 15

Open Saturday/Sunday from 12:00 noon to 4:00 p.m.

Check website and Facebook for extended hours in June, July and August.

Admission:  $5.00 individual or family

The entire Island is on the National Register of Historic Places. Documents from the 1700s, artifacts from the 1800s, fossils and Native American artifacts are featured in the museum. Visit the Museum & Gift Shop, explore the Old Stone Church built in 1861, and find treasures in the Parsonage Resale Shop, all part of the Museum complex.

Federal, State and Local health orders will be followed (e.g., masks and social distancing).



Middle Bass Island Historical Museum-Silent & Live Auction

Where:  Middle Bass Island Town Hall, 985 Fox Road, Middle Bass Island, OH

When: Saturday, July 24, 2021


A silent and live auction benefitting the Middle Bass Island Historical Museum.  Your support will help make Middle Bass Island history!  Funds raised will help move the original "My Aunt Irma's" to the Town Hall grounds, future home of the museum.

Silent auction begins at 12:30 p.m. 

Live auction at 2:00 p.m. AND 3:30 p.m.

There will be a 7:00 p.m. ferry from Middle Bass Island the night of the auction.